The World’s Biggest T20 Cricket Leagues in 2021

Biggest T20 Cricket Leagues in 2021

The goal of this shorter style of cricket is to make profits. But it has become popular with fans. Since then, the format has been popular among individuals of all ages and cultures around the world. So, in terms of viewership and brand value, here are some of the biggest T20 cricket leagues in 2021 in the world –

List Of The World’s Biggest T20 Cricket Leagues

Bangladesh Premier League (BPL T20)

The Bangladesh Cricket Board founded the Bangladesh Premier League, a domestic T20 cricket league, in 2011. Thanks to strong fan response and competitive cricket, it is one of the most interesting T20 leagues globally and the 16th most attended sporting event globally.

Administrator BCB
First edition 2012
Tournament format Round-robin and Playoffs
Number of teams Seven
Most successful Dhaka Dynamites

READ ALSO: Greatest FIFA World Cup Matches

Indian Premier League (IPL)

The Indian Premier League, or IPL, is the largest T20 league in the world. The Premier League (IPL) is well-known as the best step made by the Board of Cricket Control of India (BCCI) to promote Indian cricket and develop young players.

The Indian T20 league, founded with the assistance of all cricketing boards, is the most-watched T20 cricket competition globally. International players play because of the large sums of money involved. The IPL’s brand value was $475 billion (US$6.7 billion) last year.

Administrator BCCI
First edition 2008
Tournament format Double round-robin and play-offs
Number of teams Eight
Most successful Mumbai Indians

Big Bash League (BBL)

Australia’s Big Bash League helped to capitalize on this good platform. The Big Bash League is an annual T20 tournament in Australia sponsored by KFC, a well-known fast-food giant. The league began in 2011 with the first edition.

There are eight teams in the BBL, two from Sydney and Melbourne and one from Brisbane, Perth, Adelaide, and Hobart.


Administrator Cricket Australia
First edition 2011-12
Tournament format Double round-robin and knockout finals
Number of teams Eight
Most successful Perth Scorchers

Pakistan Super League (PSL)

PSL stands for Pakistan Super League, which is a new T20 league organized by Pakistan Cricket Board. PSL has long been a dream of Pakistani cricket lovers. The first edition of the event, which featured five clubs, was held in 2015, and the league quickly gained traction among cricket fans.

Administrator PCB
First edition 2016
Tournament format Double round-robin and play-offs
Number of teams Six
Most successful Islamabad United

Caribbean Premier League (CPL)

The Caribbean Premier League is a T20 league hosted by the West Indies Cricket Board every year, and West Indian cricketers are experts of this format.

The CPL, or Cricket Premier League, is a prominent T20 tournament that attracts viewers and participants. The CPL, which began in 2013, is a six-team league.

Administrator Cricket West Indies (CWI)
First edition 2013
Tournament format League and play-offs
Number of teams Six
Most successful  Trinbago Knight Riders (4 titles)

T20 Blast

T20 Blast is the world’s oldest active T20 competition. It all began in 2003 when T20 was still a relatively new concept. The number of teams competing is also significantly more than in other leagues, with 18 clubs from England and Wales in total. There were four different champions in the last five years, demonstrating that no single team is dominant.

Until last season, the league’s brand value was worth an estimated US $ 450 million. However, no information about the number of people who saw the show was made available. However, the league’s total attendance was at 950,000 people. In addition, the league has 1.444 million social media followers.

The Bottom Line

However, T20 leagues around the world are dominating cricket today. Now, every country has its marquee leagues. Year by year, every league is growing in viewership and brand value.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *